No Turning Back!

This phrase has been repeating over and over in my head. Last week, this phrase came out a devotional that I was reading. It gave an example of a child getting on a scary amusement ride. Once on, the child realizes that there is “no turning back.” With much fear, the child begins to cry wanting to turn back and not understanding of the fun that was going to soon come. The child only wanted to get out and rather stay in line rather than being on the ride with no way out.

At times, I feel like that child when facing the unknown. For me, I want to be able to understand what is going on and to see what is ahead of me. However, in life, that is not always going to happen and as a Christian, we are to put all of our trust in Jesus. When we face the unknown, it is easy to be tempted to retreat, quit or refuse to move forward. It is tempting to want to panic and doubt God’s wisdom.

In John 6, Jesus began explaining to the disciples and to the people the depth of commitment to follow Him. He said, “I live because of the living Father who sent Me, in the same way anyone who feeds on Me will live because of Me.” Now after Jesus said that, everyone started to leave Him, all except Peter. Jesus asked him, “Are you going to leave?” And his response was “Lord, to whom would we go? You have the words that give eternal life. We believe and we know You are the Holy One of God!”

I realize with each day, that the day will have its fair share of struggles and most of the time following Jesus will not be the popular thing to do. However, we need to resolve in our hearts that there is “NO TURNING BACK!!” Yes, the unknown can be scary, but I am assured through God’s word that I am never alone and will come out blessed and stronger in faith. The ride that I am on with Jesus is far better than standing on the side lines watching others get on the ride. I know without a doubt that my choice to follow Jesus has brought me and will continue to bring me the ultimate rewards of an abundant life here on earth and an eternal life with Jesus!

Leave a Reply

