It’s My Birthday!! – Happy Birthday To Me!

I am sure most of you are wondering and saying…wait…it’s not your birthday and yes, that is true. The day I was born is Nov. 29th but today, Aug. 25th is the day that I was born again to Jesus Christ! 9 years ago today, I made a decision to give my life to Jesus Christ at a campus bible study and my life has never been the same since!

The love and passion that I have for Jesus when I was first made the decision to follow Him doesn’t even compare to the love and passion I have for Him today! Now to be real, this journey that I am on with God has not always been a walk in the park. There have been times of darkness, where I saw myself just bloodied from being in the battle and barely hanging on. It was in those moments, I remembered that giving up and staying down was not an option. It was also in those moments, I felt so close to God because I was desperate for Him to move in my life. And He always came through to comfort me and through those difficult times, I learned how to trust and to allow God to have His way in me and guide me. One of the verses that sustained me through those times was in Psalm 139:10-12

“…Your hand will lead me, and Your right hand will lay hold of me. If I say ‘Surely the darkness will overwhelm me, and the light around me will be night,’ Even the darkness is not dark to You, and the night is as bright as the day. Darkness and light are alike to You.”

He has even shown me these past few months how much He loves me and how He is calling me to go deeper with Him! Words can not even begin to describe the sense of gratitude I have for Him for everything in my life. To think of what my life could of been without Him brings shivers down my spine. All I can do is just praise Him!!

Reflecting on today, I just can not get over how great God is and how He does not overlook any detail. I have been taking this 13 week course on Financial Peace through Dave Ramsey and this course has opened my eyes on finances and has given me the tools to be not only financially stable and have peace in my finances. It has also given me more of a desire to give! Well, anyway, tonight was our last class. Dave Ramsey was on fire! He gave an example from his travels to Edinburgh, Scotland which I was so excited about having just come back from there two weeks ago!! As I was sitting there, listening to him speak on how we were created in God’s image and how everything that we have is not ours but God’s and it just brought me back to when it all started 9 years ago almost the exact time when that same message was spoken to me and I received Jesus into my heart! It blows my mind!! What a reminder that I have come so far but yet God wants to do more in my life and there is so much more that He hasn’t even begin to show me.

I am encouraged to know that I have been walking with God for 9 years and I am looking forward to more adventures with my “Daddy!” I encourage you wherever you are with God to go seek Him. He is longing for a relationship with you! He sent His only begotten Son Jesus to die for us so that we can have a relationship with Him! That is how much He loves you!! He is more than able to come through!!

Also on a side note, I want to say Happy Birthday to Di! My faithful friend and prayer warrior who has stood with me through thick and thin! On this day, God gave her life and what a life she is living! I pray that God will grant the desires of her heart today and this year!! Love ya!!

Leave a Reply

