Proverbs 31 Woman – Are we too busy for God?

This morning I was reading a devotional that really challenged me today and I thought I would share my thoughts so that it may encourage others. The devotional started with one of my favorite scriptures:

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly be praised.” Prov. 31:30

I know every woman wants to be the one that people think about when reading this passage in Proverbs 31. When reading this passage, it seems that the only thing that we have in common with the woman described in Proverbs is that we are really, really busy.

I know I find myself in the trap of being busy and sadly, busy seems to be the value lifestyle today. As I read this devotional it posed the question of “What does God say about being busy?” The answer comes through what Jesus said to Martha during one of His visits. “You are worried and upset over all these details. There is only one thing worth being concerned about.” (Luke 10:41-42). I thought to myself, have I been too busy “doing” that I may be missing out on the real work that God has asked me to do?

Looking more deeply into the Proverbs 31 woman, I find that there are more virtues than just being a busy woman. I see that this woman is defined by something much more substantial than a busy schedule or a long list of things to do and accomplish. I see that her husband (vs. 11), her servants, the poor and the needy (vs. 15, 20), the community (vs. 24) and her children (vs. 20) see her qualities and character shine more so than what she has accomplished. God wants me to be involved in people’s lives, not just busy checking off tasks on my to-do list. It is easy for me to use my talents and abilities to accomplish many things. But the real challenge is to find ways build healthy relationships while accomplishing things that I need to do.

According to verse 30, the number one priority of the Proverbs 31 woman is “Fear of the Lord.” This should dictate my daily to-do list. This kind of fear is a constructive fear that means acknowledging God’s authority and allowing only God to order our lives. I know that I prone to be a people pleaser, allowing the opinions of others to influence my decisions. It is so easy to forget that God’s opinion of me is the only opinion that counts. God values us not because of what we accomplished but because of what He has accomplished for us in Jesus Christ. He wants to impart His love, power and grace into us and work it out of us every day. When I think about that I am so motivated to live for Him! Because God loves me so much, I can relax and live my busy life confidently and with great joy!

Leave a Reply

